13904659

I am this band self-proclaimed biggest fan ever and to write a review without being prejudiced and biased is not a simple task. However, I tried putting away my crazy obsession to the guys to be more fair and just, also to be a bit professional since this is my first time reviewing an album. In fact, this is also my first time reviewing something. Rest assured that my preconceived notion to these boys has been thrown somewhere I can’t really reached myself. I have to listen to the album more than 5 times to actually grasp what I’m going to pen, I too scrutinize some reviews from other established sources and compare them with my own judgment.

From the cookie cutter pop star stuff of It’s about time and The Jonas Brothers to the rock-star wannabe tunes of A little bit Longer, The Jonas Brothers have evolved and been full-fledged in their fourth studio album named Lines, Vines and Trying Times.

This album has somehow depicted their authenticity in making music and serving their fans with a plate full of fresh new vibes. Lines, Vines and Trying Times can be dubbed as the brothers’ rebel yell in form of the beats and the lyrics which gyrate around the angsty and zesty of life or what they would prefer to call as the ‘trying times’.

The first track World War 3 keeps you feet tapping and your head vigorously hooking to the fast beat and pop-rock choruses. If a couple is in a fracas being compared to the eruption of the World War 3, these boys are at faults for inducing it.

This fourth album is by far contains a more diverse and eclectic choices of sounds and genres and somewhat overstated metaphors too. They hope to topple their tween-pop Disney fetish with a more sentiments and wailing guitars. That brings us to somewhat crass yet clunky metaphors scattered in the album. For example, the addictive track Poison Ivy where the boys equates love with a bad rash is rather obtuse yet very factual. The beat, to my own shocker, reminds me to the band Weezer. Turn right, another of the boy’s pensive track, on the other hand is a portrayal of life to some kind of racing or so I thought.

The rest of the entries like Fly with me is-I believe– intended to the younger fans base. A catchy vibes inclusive of such an amorous lyrics like “Peter Pan and Wendy turned out fine, so won’t you fly with me” could carve a smirk on their determinedly female fans. Joe’s love affair with his ex paid very well as I believe the track Much Better is vividly a blatant retaliation of Taylor’s Forever and Always from her respective album. The sarcasms in the lyrics to me are rather superfluous and gratuitous for the fact that fans would eventually be annoyed with their never-ending inane scuffle.

Much to my delight, their released first single Paranoid acts as a foreshadow of the transformation they have undergo in the album. Parallel to Don’t Speak, which sound a bit mellow, in a good way of course, resembles the sounds from U2’s songs. The boys gambling effort of singing a country is no futile because of the track What Did I Do To Your Heart manages to capture and held captive my attention. A typical country song which is filled with sounds of horns, violin and other country instruments.

However, albeit all those stupendous alteration, there are a few adverse and unfavorable essence that somehow turns the album to be a no better than their previous album. The boys’ duet with a rapper Common, in my prerogative is a fail and faulty effort from the heartthrob tweens. Although the song Don’t Charge Me for The Crime can be classified as a rnb rather than a rap song, it falls short. One salient thing that makes it a tad appealing is the narration in the song, which somehow attracts you to perpetuate listening to it, to know what will happen to the boys. It’s a slow paced yet turn fast track with some rocking guitar. The ruminative ballad of Black Keys, in my personal opinion, is no difference to the vibes of A little bit Longer from their previous exact-titled album.

Having watched that Nick’s performance of merging both songs, it’s a rather unflattering, even to some it may sound genius. Perhaps the idea of the song that sounded so honest with a theme of teenage despair that simply surpasses one’s misdemeanor defiance aids in giving this song the ‘kick’ it needed.

Before the storm, being the duet between Nick and his much-anticipated lover, Miley Cyrus is something not to be under-estimated and taken too lightly. It gives you this ambiance of forlorn and despondent vibes for those who plunge their head of these two young lovers’ real life soap opera.

Lines, Vines and Trying Times is definitely a worth listening to. Those who haven’t plugged in, give it a go. You won’t regret anything. But I have to mind you that Nick’s strained voice can be a tad annoying at times, so bear with it. Give these kids, boys a try! They have a lot to offer!

p.s. To be updated regularly.

p.s.s. The photo above is my current wallpaper for my lappy =))

